Mt Stuart Wind Farm

5 turbines at Mt Stuart wind farmPioneer Energy officially opened its Mt Stuart wind farm, near Milton in the Clutha District, in June 2012.

The wind farm has 9 wind turbines, with a combined generating capacity of 7.65MW. The 850kW turbines are supplied by Gamesa, a wind turbine manufacture based in Spain. The turbines have a 45 metre tower, and their blades have a 52 metre diameter. Mt Stuart is the first wind farm in New Zealand and Australia to use Gamesa turbines.

Pioneer began construction of the wind farm in April 2011. The wind farm was commissioned in November 2011. The wind farm produces about 25,600MWh per year and feeds its electricity into the OtagoNet network.

The consent application for the wind farm was originally submitted to the Clutha District Council by NZ Windfarms in late 2008. Submissions closed in February 2009. NZ Windfarms subsequently put the project on hold and then sold its interests in the project to Pioneer Generation in May 2009.

A hearing was held for the application in December 2009, and the decision released in January 2010. Pioneer Generation appealed some of the conditions of consent to the Environment Court. The appeals were resolved out of court.

Pioneer Energy is a community-owned energy company, based in Alexandra, Central Otago.

Key facts

Operator: Pioneer Energy
Commissioned: November 2011
Number of turbines: 9
Turbine capacity: 850 kilowatts (0.85 megawatts)
Wind farm installed capacity: 7.65 megawatts
Blade diameter: 52 metres
Tower height: 54 metres

More information

Pioneer Energy's website


To see the wind turbine, change the view to satellite and zoom in.