

# NEW ZEALAND WIND ENERGY ASSOCIATION 2023 AGM MINUTES

The Annual General Meeting of the NZWEA was held on 25<sup>th</sup> October, 3:00pm at MinterEllisonRuddWatts, Wellington.

#### 1. WELCOME

The Chief Executive, Kevin Hart, welcomed all delegates to the meeting. The quorum was met with those voting in person at the AGM and via the proxy votes received.

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Were received from Marcos Pelenur - EECA, Anne Probert - Venture Taranaki, Simon Arnold – NERI, and Karl Cromarty - Technical Rigging Services.

#### 3. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

The Chair, Blair Walter, delivered his report. He thanked the board members, noted the changes in the secretariat, and thanked the past Chief Executive Greenville Gaskill, and welcomed the incumbent Kevin Hart.

The report focused on NZWEA's strategy, the financial results for the 2023 FYE, noting that the operating performance of NZWEA had improved. He also highlighted the international sector trends, and thanked the board for their support and wished NZWEA well for the future.

# 4. CHIEF EXECUTIVE'S REPORT

The Chief Executive, Kevin Hart, provided an industry update, spoke of the challenges in the sector, and also the opportunities, and outlined the areas of focus for NZWEA. The CE announced the Chairman was retiring after 16 years as a director, and the past 10 years as Chair, and made mention of the value and commitment he brought to NZWEA, and the commitment he continues to have to the industry.

## 5. FINANCIAL REPORT

The Annual Performance Report and Independent Audit Review, audited by Baker Tilly, were approved unanimously.

# 6. ELECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

There were 3 vacancies for corporate directors and 3 nominations received, so no AGM vote was required.

There were 2 vacancies for associate / individual directors and 6 nominations received. As there were more nominations than vacancies, a vote was consequently held at the AGM, that included in-person votes and the proxy votes received.

Following the vote, members approved the new NZWEA Board as follows:



## **Corporate Directors:**

- Chris Moore, Meridian Energy Appointed for a 2-year term.
- Jim Pearson, Manawa Energy Appointed for a 2-year term.
- Tim Stringfield, Aurecon Appointed for a 2-year term.
- Stephanie Cook, Mercury Energy 1 year remaining.
- Jarek Pole, BlueFloat Energy 1 year remaining.

## **Associate/Individual Directors:**

- Peter McCafferty, Beca 1 year remaining.
- Alistair Tippett, Hiringa Energy Appointed for a 2-year term.
- William Thorp, Elemental Group 1 year remaining.

# **Additional Director (Associate):**

• Paul Botha, Roaring 40's - Appointed for a 1-year term.

Congratulations were conveyed to the new and sitting directors.

#### 7. CLOSURE

The meeting closed at 4:00pm.

### 8. GUEST SPEAKER

Following the conclusion of the formalities of the AGM, the CE thanked Scott Thompson of MinsterEllisonRuddWatts, for hosting the AGM. Scott welcomed the delegates as guests of MinterEllisonRuddWatts.

The CE welcomed guest speaker Cameron Bagrie of Bagrie Economics, who provided an insight into the New Zealand economy and the political landscape following the 14<sup>th</sup> October general election.